Are you going to rape me anyway?

Are you going to rape me anyway?

 

Picture this. I’m in a night club, happily dancing, perhaps holding a drink. A man approaches me and rapes me. He knew I wanted it. He knew this because I was dancing in a night club.

The way you grab me
Must wanna get nasty

 

Image

Yes. This is exactly what most women think when they’re dancing with men. I think this equates to kissing someone and then you raping them…

The way you kiss me
Must wanna get raped

I don’t know how many times it needs to be said, nor how many ways it has to be said. When it comes to sexual advances, there are no “blurred lines”. No still means no. In fact, if she doesn’t say yes, take it as a no. Ohhhh, she was too drunk to say yes? THEN WHY THE FUCK DID YOU GO AHEAD?

Probably because songs like this are influencing teenage boys and young men all over the world. Blurred Lines by Rapey Robin Thicke. Suggesting that the lines are blurred, because she CLEARLY wants it, yet hasn’t consented. Oh, oh and the best line;

So hit me up when you pass through
I’ll give you something big enough to tear your ass in two.

Nice. I bet their wives and children are thrilled.

This topic has been done to death. I appreciate this. What I hadn’t appreciated is that this song was the best selling song in 2013. We’re paying Rapey Robin Thicke and his entourage MILLIONS of pounds to educate men on how to sexually assault women. There isn’t a woman I’ve spoken to who doesn’t find him repulsive. He has a skin crawling characteristic and I can only presume he suggests rape as a way of getting laid. The ironic thing is that Rapey Robin Thicke claimed that the song was a “celebration of [his] 20-year long relationship with wife Paula”. Lucky, lucky her.

In fact Thicke’s father, Allen, said this:

“I think that there are blurred lines within the Blurred Lines. T.I.’s rap is kind of graphic; Robin’s point of view, I think, in his own parts of the song… is kind of female empowerment when you look at it.”

I kid you not.

Stop buying it. Turn it off. Please for the protection of women everywhere, don’t let your children grow up listening to it. The record industry may find it acceptable but the excuse of “I know she wanted it” won’t stand up in court. Educate yourself and respect women.

 

Leave a Reply

