Cookies in a jar, a Christmas treat!

hamper cookie2 hamper cookieThis week I’ll be focusing on Christmas hampers. Every day I’ll add something new for you to try. Whether you want to make all of it or just to gift one to your children’s teachers, hopefully there’ll be something here to accommodate you!

Please allow me to apologise for the not so original photographs. This is an old post and when we blog hopped all of my photos went into oblivion causing huge ball ache for me.Image.

So I have the post and have carefully stolen images from Google.  Just for you.

If your family is anything like mine (large and more often than not producing offspring) then Christmas hampers are an ideal gift for you! Lovely to give as a “joint” present to a couple, and without being overly expensive. Gone are the days of macaroni stuck to cards, these hampers, while homemade, will look expertly shabby chic. There should be something for everyone here, and I have tried to include as many non-bake items as possible (so you can freeze/refrigerate until needed).

You will need some jars. While old jam jars and sauce jars are frugal, the neck isn’t always big enough for adding layers. If you are willing to buy jars, I recommend Ikea. The Korken jar below is only £1. The longer Korken jar is £1.30. Both are fantastic value for money, and realistically you will only need two per hamper. I used a large one for the recipe below from the same range for £1.80.

You may need to order some cellophane. I find that edibles wrapped in cellophane with a ribbon finish is far more attractive (and cheaper) than paying out on plastic storage boxes, which always seem to resemble packed lunches and leftovers. I have put a link at the bottom for where to buy some cellophane from.

Now onto what we can put into it. I’ll start with the edible goods, as they’re my favourite. Mainly because I’m greedy.

Image

This recipe will need the larger Korken jar.

COOKLESS COOKIE IN A JAR

What you will need:

9 oz plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon bicarb of soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 oz of cooking oats (I use porridge oats)

6 oz of chocolate chips (white or brown or a mixture if you’re feeling adventurous)

4 oz brown sugar (quite sticky-which is good for holding it’s structure in the jar)

4 oz white sugar

4 oz of chopped pecans (rather American, you can leave this out if you prefer and perhaps add the same amount in chocolate chips)

Method to my madness:

First: flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt

Second: porridge oats

Third: chocolate chips (only the 6oz, if you have used them instead of nuts, don’t add these yet)

Fourth: brown sugar

Fifth: white sugar

Sixth: chopped pecans or chocolate chips. If these do not fit, you can sacrifice some as they’re additional ingredients.

It’s crucial that you pack each level down really really tight and firmly. This will become easier once you have added the brown sugar. I use the end of a rolling pin, sometimes a rubber spatula to spread it out. It is crucial that the ingredients pack the jar to the top so there is no room for movement ergo the ingredients do not mix.

I cut out a small brown label from parcel paper and back it in card. I write the following instructions on this:

“Tip all the dry ingredients into a bowl and mix up. Add an egg, 4oz of butter and a teaspoon of vanilla. Roll into golf ball size balls onto a baking tray, leaving space for spreading either side, and bake for 10 minutes on 180 degrees (gas mark 4)”.

I get around 25 cookies from this mix, depending on how much of the mix I eat as I go along. You can then top the jar in some pretty fabric, or traditionally gingham, tie with some ribbon and add the label.

 

Leave a Reply

