Cheesy pasta. The cheat’s Carbonara.

Some people are such try hards at being foodies. They don’t into consideration the fact you may have hungry children pulling at your trouser leg, or that you have a set time to make supper. Doing things by the very literal book can be boring. Take Carbonara for example. I don’t use raw egg when I make it. For several reasons really, I don’t like it, I don’t think we’re supposed to eat raw egg (I don’t even eat cake mix) and to be honest who has the time to be such a perfectionist? It’s not even for the taste it’s because “that’s how it’s supposed to be done”. Well bore off. It isn’t supposed to be done like that in my kitchen and I think it’s fair to say it’s one of the winning dishes for my family…let’s just not count calories, eh? I find this dish works better with spaghetti or tagliatelle over a pasta mainly because I find the sauce distributes easier this way.
You will need;
A spaghetti/pasta of your choice
Single cream
Bacon (chopped you can buy it chopped in Tesco, around £1.20 for a value pack and freeze what you don’t use).
Mushrooms (I use 6)
A whole slice of hard cheese, this depends on your budget…you can buy Parmesan, parmigiana or Tesco’s “hard Italian cheese”. I’ve used an entire two tubs of Philadelphia when I’ve forgotten cream before now.
An onion
3 cloves of garlic

Get your pan of spaghetti on. He Italians (read try hard foodies)don’t believe in cooking pasta without salt, I don’t believe in excessively salting my food, especially when babies are concerned. You’ll find the bacon in the sauce makes it salty enough.

Pop the onion (chopped) bacon and mushrooms into a pan (I use a wok as it holds everything and I like to mix my sauce and spaghetti together before serving).

2014-05-19 17.28.51


 

Get someone to grate the entire block of hard cheese and pop to one side.

Add the full tub of cream to your pan of ingredients and turn the hob down so it’s barely above a simmer. Once you see tiny bubbles appear throw the cheese in. If you want extra for sprinkling on the top then hold some back.

2014-05-19 17.31.24

2014-05-19 17.31.35

2014-05-19 17.34.08

2014-05-19 17.34.34

The cream sauce will now thicken as the cheese melts, stir it and ensure the cream doesn’t start to split, it shouldn’t need more than 2/3 minutes on the heat.

Drain your spaghetti, add it to the wok/sensible pan choice and stir.

2014-05-19 17.45.54

2014-05-19 17.49.22

2014-05-19 17.50.30

Take the garlic bread out of the oven that I forgot to tell you to put in and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

